This is Not a Goodbye.

To my beloved AACF Class of 2019:
I love you all. I’ve loved you so much, I’ve found myself thinking about you at random points of the day, wondering about how you’ve been handling the stress and excitement of freshman year. Last year, serving as AACF Core was probably the hardest year of my college career, and it really made me apprehensive about people who strongly chased after leadership; it made me wonder if I was even cut out to be a leader. This year, in all of you and Christ’s working through you, I’ve found the true joy that comes from serving – so much so that you’ve all been a part of my decision to pursue seminary and see God be glorified through the greater understanding and appreciation of who He is.  
You are all brilliant and you are all lovable in more ways than I thought possible from a single class of people, not to mention freshmen. No matter how insane my week was, no matter how little sleep I got, Thursday nights at the bottom floor of the UCen blessed me beyond belief. I am always greatly humbled whenever you encourage us freshmen Bible study leaders because I often feel like I come to learn from you all. You each have your own stories, your own values, your own character, but you all share an uncommonly powerful ability to love.  
I urge you to nourish your love with the true and full knowledge of the love of Christ. As you grow in AACF, assuming you stay, you’ll realize that Christians are not perfect people; in fact, they might be the furthest thing from that. Praise God that He is perfect while we are not though, am I right? Your love will be tested, but it is my prayer that you would remember that we love because He first loved us (1 John 4:19). In this journey you take during college, never change the one thing that the four of us have echoed: the desire to own your own faith and struggle for it. There will always be people who tell you how you should be or what you should say; know that the Word of God is provided so that you may grow and know what it is that God desires of you. 

Hopefully, some of you will try to read the whole Bible in a year next year, when I stop posting on AACF because the freshmen will not know me (spooky) because you’ve seen that God’s Word is worthy of love and adoration. 
So as we each walk our separate paths, know that I will always be here for you. To have just one year of this beautiful friendship would be a complete disappointment to me, as I’ve put so much stock in us seeing each other at your senior banquet, full of new and old stories to tell one another. I cannot promise that I’ll always visit at every event, but I will come see you all as much as I can, as you’ll be my last link to a changing AACF. 

 I’ve said this already, but I love you all so much, and I will miss every one of you. To the ones I didn’t get a chance to get to know, don’t feel scared to talk to me because I’ll talk to you first heh. To the ones I’ve gotten close to, let’s keep it that way. I’m living a cliché when I say that there aren’t enough words in the world to describe the depth of love that I have for you, so I’ll let “Everglow” by Coldplay do the job for me along with some lyrics to remember what we shared together. I found it fitting, and I hope that you take the time to listen to it now and again when you’re stressing for finals, feeling low, or remembering the times we’ve had. Thank you all for a wonderful year, and remember – this isn’t goodbye; I will see you all later. 
PS, this page is now yours! Use it to hang out with one another and plan cool events in the future for further fellowship! ^___^ ❤
“Like brothers in blood, sisters who ride

and we swore on that night we’d be friends til we die

but the changing of winds, and the way waters flow

life as short as the falling of snow

and now I’m gonna miss you I know”
“So if you love someone, you should let them know

oh the light that you left me will everglow”

Leave a Reply

