Coincidence.

Perhaps it’s just a coincidence that things I have picked up through my life are coinciding in this manner at this point of my life.  But I feel like I would be downplaying God’s role in my life.  Ever since I began having a very real and tangible experience of Him, I began understanding that God does give us free will…but at the end of the day, He already knows the outcome of everything we do, so nothing we do can surprise Him.  This, plus verse 26 of Chapter 17 in Acts, which says, “And he made from one man every nation of mankind to live on all the face of the earth, having determined allotted periods and the boundaries of their dwelling place,” clearly puts forth the notion that God has already planned out our lives, that no matter what we do, it doesn’t matter because He ironed out a path for us already.

And yet, what a depressing view on God’s plan this is!  What I’ve grown to grasp is that it’s not a bad thing for us to have no will; indeed, how much greater are the things that God has planned for us than what we have planned for ourselves?  He is a God who loves us, and what He desires for us should overwhelm us with gratitude because He continually molds us into what He sees in us.   No longer should we cry out “Lord, it is not fair that I have no say in the matter;” rather, we should say, “Lord, I pray that You take my say in the matter because I trust in Your faithfulness and Your love.”  Too many times, myself included, we hold onto what we view as important more tightly than what is actually important; I pray that I keep my eyes on the Lord and that He may soften my heart to fully cooperate with His will.

Leave a Reply

