Pride Comes Before a Fall.

The title is so true it hurt. Literally.  After misjudging the height of a curb next to the bike path, I ate it sooo hard.  Prior to this, I was bragging to my basketball team captain that he wouldn’t be able to tailgate me if he tried because I’d be so far ahead.  Even though I was joking, the joke was on me when I was lying on my side, confused as to how I came to that predicament.

At night, my vision is completely shot, so I was already in a bad spot when I decided to bike at night on some dirt road area.  As I approached the actual bike path, I realized after skidding along it that it was much higher than anticipated.  I felt the bike tip over on one side and remembered thinking, “Oh, shucks…” and then slamming into the ground on my right side.

After dusting myself off, I finished the course and got to Kogilicious.  Upon closer inspection under the light, I realized that my clothes weren’t even as dirty as I thought – in fact, I had barely a scratch.  I felt like I was going to be sore the next day, but today is that next day and the only pain I feel is a sore right butt cheek.  I realized in this ironic moment that God was showing me about pride; even though I was only jokingly boasting, the situation can be juxtaposed to past and future instances of my life, and I’m glad that He protected me from serious harm while teaching me.

Leave a Reply

