A Cube.

I’ve been meaning to write a poem, but really haven’t found the time nor the inspiration.  Or I haven’t sat down and actually tried, but that’s beside the point.  I’m hoping this reflection stimulates the old creative juices and leads up to a poem in the near future, but I can’t be certain.  Even now, as I write, I struggle more and more with the imprinting of coherent thought on cyber-paper.  However, I do know the general concept of what I’d like to share about, and that topic would be the different dimensions in shapes.

More specifically, a cube.  Each side of a cube is different in that it takes three different dimensions to construct a cube.  Mathematically speaking, they’re all the same, but at the same time, they are individual dimensions: the length, the height, the width.  Each one has a purpose in the cube and without the measurements being equal, it ceases to be called a cube.  Rather, it becomes a rectangular prism and no longer retains the spectacular quality of balance, unity, perfection.

What a cube also represents, to me, is a part of how the Body of Christ operates.  More and more, I am beginning to see that there are indeed different dimensions to His Body.  Perhaps it was because of growing up with the same people in the Church that I thought everyone subscribed to a more or less unified view of the Christian life, but all I know is that by placing me at UCSB, God has shown me that the brothers and sisters in the Church bring so much more to the table.  The year is not even close to over, and yet I have discovered a number of things that I hadn’t even given thought to previously.  By attending all the meetings (finally) that I could with AACF (Asian American Christian Fellowship), I found the immeasurable riches of Christ truly does exist through the saints as it says in Ephesians 3:17b – 19: “that you, being rooted and grounded in love, 18 may be able to comprehend with all the saints what is the width and length and depth and height— 19 to know the love of Christ which passes knowledge; that you may be filled with all the fullness of God.”

It appears that my writing style has gathered a bit of dust, yet God continues to prove Himself ever new and fresh.  No longer do I attempt to attain all spiritual knowledge and contain it within myself; to do so would be impossible.  All that’s left for me to do is to serve faithfully and press on towards the goal, taking comfort in the fact that He has provided, once again, brothers and sisters with whom I can truly be “rooted and grounded in love.”  There is a hidden geometry in the fullness of nature, and there is a perfection in the manifestation of His life in each one of us; a cube, in human thought, is merely a six-sided geometrical figure, but how much more does it represent within the context of His Body.

Leave a Reply

