Let Us not be Fools.

The end of a matter is better than its start,

Patience is better than pride, by far.

So states Ecclesiastes 7 verse 8

A verse when love itself does dislocate.

I know not where this temper comes nor when this tempest goes,

but abstinence from speech and laughter brings many woes.

Each passing moment of silence does rend at my heart

‘Til I cannot breathe and cannot speak with art.

Be it pride or just an inordinate spirit that pricks at the life within

It matters not, for to stew in ill will gives birth to horrible sin.

The daggers that plunge from the mouth

Sets relations on a course due south.

Perhaps my own malady has brought to much stress

Leaving both of you reluctant to bless.

A much grieving heart, my words lack vigor and interest now

Now given to prayer and asking the Lord, “How?”

How might it be that this malice might flee

Taking with it anger and future calumny?

Ecclesiastes has one more word yet

and in this message, I hope to not fret.

Do not be quickly provoked in your spirit,

For anger resides in laps of fools, oh hear it!

Beautiful verse 9 of the same chapter I read

and as I pray, my soul does on some hope feed.

Dear Lord, this year has been filled with disaster

Anoint me with Your Spirit with a flask of alabaster.

All glory to You, Your might be known

That within me others see where proper light has shown.

Cleanse this family of the snake’s dread bite,

Bring us from darkness into the light.

You have the power to save, you still had it then,

so please watch over this family, Amen.

Leave a Reply

