Rise of the Wit Lord.

You have been deceived already.  Yes, I am the Wit Lord (WL in public to avoid judgment), but this post is not about me at all.  This post is dedicated to someone who has become a really good friend and brother over the summer, Josh Zhang, a.k.a. J.Z.  This post is going to be sentimental, and it is going to be emotional, but the ephemeral embarrassment felt by both parties will be washed away due to the depth of the family life in Christ.

It’s kind of hard to believe that you’re going so soon, Josh.  I always tell you, from the random times that you showed up to the meeting and left the next week, I had always wanted to befriend you, and I hope that it’s safe to say that I have accomplished that goal.  However, I had no idea what kind of fellowship and friendship would follow.  At first, I didn’t know too much about you, aside from my mother’s constant praise of your linguistic capabilities.  Needless to say, I was already intrigued because of that very characteristic; I am, after all, heavily impressed by those who are capable of mastering their diction.  And although our mutual interest in English was the thing that allowed us to talk at Mammoth, we gradually found out that we had other common interests, namely tennis.

I still remember the first time we played tennis.  You came in your van to my house, and we departed shortly.  Arriving at Cerritos High School, where we would eventually play the rest of our tennis games, we rallied for about an hour until a problem eventually arose.  I remember it, and no doubt you remember it: the blister.  Not to over-dramatize the blister, nor embarrass you, but the blister was, in fact, one of the prime examples in my life’s tenure that really was spurred on by God.  Had that blister not occurred, we would not, if you remember, have gone to Baskin Robbins for ice cream and had an extremely deep talk about our own individual pasts.  One of the most refreshing moments in my life, I really got to know more about you, and it cemented our brotherhood and friendship from then on.

The next fond memory I had was when you lowered your barrier, I suppose, at the dinner tables.  Andrew and I were exercising our good-natured ribbing of Conrad, and the thing you said in response was one of the more humorous things I have heard regarding Conrad.  Andrew and I both looked at you and said something along the lines of, “This guy went to PROM!” and you calmly looked at Conrad and said, “Well done.” The laughs that that phrase generated remain a good memory of when you started to seem more comfortable with all of the brothers at the Church Assembly in Westminster.

Finally, the last memory I’ve had with you at Westminster was last night, the actual rise of the Wit Lord.  For some reason, I feel like had you not been there, there would have been no way for me to have even thought of that persona, that moniker, that alter-ego.  This entails the inspiration that you have brought to me over the course of our friendship, and for that I am forever indebted to you.

Profundity.  Humor.  Inspiration.  What more could one ask of his brother?  Josh, it’s been a great time having you around for this long.  We have played tennis approximately seven times together, and each time has been quite fun.  The fellowship that we have had, and your portion in the young people’s meeting were altogether refreshing, and just having you participate was a true blessing from the Lord.  I always consider friendship to be one of the greatest gifts of God, hence my favorite verse in the Bible, John 15:13, which says, “Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends,” and truly, I treasure our friendship.  Pardon the simplicity of my writing in this post; I did not desire for emotion to be obscured by labyrinthine language.  Brother, I will continue to pray for you here in America; I will pray for your success, and for the Lord’s guidance over all that you do.  You truly are blessed; cling to the Lord in all that you do so that you may bear fruit pleasing to Him.  Remember to check your e-mails, go on AIM, and go on Skype often, as well as keep us all updated through WordPress!  It’s been both a pleasure and an honor to have been both your brother and friend through this time.

And now, a piece of wit.  Many times, though hardly enough now, friends will say “farewell” to those who are departing.  However, “farewell” does not exactly have the same feel as “goodbye” or “so long.”  Should we be so bold as to cleave the word in half, we arrive at “fare well,” and that is precisely what I would like to wish you. Josh, farewell and fare well in all that you do; pray unceasingly, and keep in touch.

In all sincerity,

Benjamin Fan

a.k.a. Wit Lord

Leave a Reply

